Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Women�s soccer

By Sports reporter

GUWAHATI, April 1 � The 20th edition of the Senior Women�s National Football Championship has been allotted to Assam Football Association and the tournament will be organised at Dibrugarh and Golaghat from April 27 to May 11.

Altogether 20 teams will vie for the title in the league-cum-knock out meet. The teams have been divided into four groups-Manipur, Railways, Chhattishgarh, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra (Gr A). Odisha, Karnataka, Goa, Mizoram, Gujarat (Gr B). Bengal, Kerala, Bihar, Delhi, Tripura (Gr C). Jharkhand, Assam, Pondichery, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand (Gr D).

Group A and C teams will play their preliminary round matches at Dibrugarh while group B and D teams will play the league matches at Golaghat.

Top two teams of all the groups will qualify for the semifinals. Both the semifinals and the final will be hosted by Golaghat.

Assam Football Association (AFA) secretary Ankur Dutta said, the State has successfully hosted first round of the 2nd Division I-League at Silchar and the All India Football Federation has allocated the important event to AFA. Dutta hoped that they will be able to host the championship successfully. The Indian team for the Asian Football Confederation championship will be picked from this championship.

Assam team�s camp: The AFA has invited 38 players to attend selection camp which will be held at Golaghat from April 10. Kamala Kanta Singh of NF Railway has been appointed coach of the Assam team, informed Dutta.

Next Story