Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

West Bengal champs


GUWAHATI, March 8 � West Bengal outshined Jaharkhand by a huge margin of 147 runs in the final of the second East Zone Cricket Tournament for Deaf.

In the one-sided title clash at the Latasil playground here today, Bengal, riding on a 77-ball 80 by man-of-the-match Indranil Sadhukhan, piled a mammoth 255 for seven in the stipulated 35 overs.

The Bengal bowlers came out heavily on the Jharkhand batsmen and bundled them out for 108 in just 19.5 overs.

Apart from Indranil, Subhankar Mullick (44) and Sanjay Acharya (31) were the other notable contributors for the winning team.

The Jharkhand batsmen miserably failed to click and barring Rajiv Ranjan Singh (31), no other could counter the Bengal attack. Sujit Nandi ripped through the Jharkhand batting line up with a five-wicket haul.

Indranil also got the man-of-the-series award, while Pinku Bhokta of Jharkhand and Subhankar Mullick of Bengal were adjudged best batsman and best bowler respectively. Abhimanyu Deo of Jharkhand received the best fielder award. Assam got the best disciplined team trophy.

Brief scores: West Bengal 255/7 (Indranil Sadhukhan 80, Subhankar Mullick 44, Sanjay Acharya 31, Rajeeb Ranjan Singh 2/45). Jharkhand 108 (Rajeev R Singh 31, Pinku Bhokta 19, Niranjan Guria 18, Sujit Nandi 5/31, Sanjay Acharya 2/14, Subhankar Mullick 2/46).

Next Story