Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

VCs of NE varsities discuss New Education Policy

By Correspondent

JORABAT, June 22 - A galaxy of Vice Chancellors of North Eastern universities, stakeholders, directors and representatives of educational institutions from the NE region gathered at the University of Science & Technology, Meghalaya (USTM) near here today to participate in a brainstorming session on the National Education Policy-2019.

They discussed the massive change and restructuring of the existing education system. The programme was organised by the USTM in association with the Centre for South East Asian Studies, Gauhati University and Rajiv Gandhi University, Arunachal Pradesh.

Presiding over the meet, Prof Mihir Kanti Chaudhuri, Adviser (Education), Government of Assam, said that one of the important points agreed to by all the participants was that the new National Education Policy (NEP) needs to have a perspective of the North Eastern region of India. It was also agreed to by all that the policy needs to put more emphasis on minorities and female education.

Mahbubul Hoque, USTM chairman, stated, �As the Union Ministry of HRD wants to introduce the new NEP that may act as a game changer for a new India, we find it extremely significant for the educational leaders and academic fraternity of the NE, along with the whole country, to sit together and have a thorough discussion on the new NEP�. The views, opinions and suggestions put forward by the speakers would be sent to Ministry of HRD, he added.

Delivering the keynote address, Dr Mridul Hazarika, Vice Chancellor of Gauhati University, said, �The most important part of the NEP is that it is extremely comprehensive and well thought out. The school education part is well documented as schools are the feeder institutions for higher education.

Apart from stakeholders, other distinguished participants in the session included Prof Saket Kushwaha, VC, Rajiv Gandhi University, Arunachal Pradesh; Prof Vijaykumar L Dharurkar, VC, Tripura University, Dr Dhiraj Bora, VC, Assam Science and Technology University; Prof RC Nayak, Pro-VC, Nagaland University; Prof G Singaiah, Pro-VC, North East Hill University; Dr RR Haque, Tezpur University; Dr NB Singh & Dr UK Behera, Deans, Central Agricultural University; Prof Vincent Darlong, VC, Martin Luther Christian University; Dr Maribon Viray & Dr Fabian Lyngdoh, MLCU; Dr SC Singh, Professor of Law, National Law University and Judicial Academy; Dr S Tamilvanan, Associate Prof, NIPER, Guwahati and Prof Alaka Sarma, Director (Hony), International Centre for Gandhian Studies, USTM.

Next Story