Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Triangular contest likely for 10 BTC seats in Udalguri

By Correspondent

KALAIGAON, Dec 5 - Despite hectic electioneering by political parties about to come to an end, however, it is still not clear which party will form the BTC government in Kokrajhar. Election will be held in all the 10 constituencies of Udalguri district on December 7. Three major political parties, namely UPPL, BPF and BJP have left no stone unturned to woo the voters with so many promises, thereby leaving a sizeable section of voters confused.

The BJP this time is trying very hard to win the BTC election with Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal attending several election rallies in the BTC region. Health, Finance, Planning and Development Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma has also visited most of the BTC constituencies in Udalguri district. A recent secret deal between the BJP and UPPL may topple the apple cart of the BPF, feel political observers. As per the latest election observation, contests will mostly be limited among UPPL,BPF and BJP in most of the ten constituencies in Udalguri district. BTC election will be conducted separately in sub-divisional HQ Bhergaon and at the district HQ Udalguri.

Gokul Chandra Brahma, ADC-cum-SDO (Civil) of Bhergaon is the Returning Officer of Bhergaon, while Prakash Ranjan Gharphalia, Deputy Commissioner of Udalguri is the Returning Officer for Udalguri sub-division.

The constituencies falling under Bhergaon are 31 Khwirwbari (ST), 32 Bhergaon (ST), 33 Nonwli Serfang (Non ST), 34 Khaling Duar (ST) and 35 Mwdwibori (open). The constituencies in Udalguri are 36 Harisinga (ST); 37 Dwhwnsri (ST), 38 Bhairabkunda (ST), 39 Pasnwi Serfang (non-ST) and 40 Rowta (ST).

In Khwrwbari (ST), six candidates are in the fray. Babul Basumatary of UPPL has been posing threat to former EM Lwmshrao Daimari of BPF. In Bhergaon (ST), among four candidates, former Deputy Speaker of BTC Nerswn Boro of BPF has been challenged by Daobaisa Boro of UPPL.

In 33 Nonwli Serfang (non-ST), tough triangular contest is likely among Sanjit Tanti of BJP, Suresh Tanti of BPF and Krishna Bahadur Giri of BJP, i.e., among five candidates.

In 34 Khaling Duar (ST), Dilip Kumar Boro of UPPL has been locking horn with former BTC EM Bonjar Daimari of BPF among five candidate.

In 35 Mwdwibaori (open), a triangular contest will be limited to Anthony Basumatari of UPPL,former BTC EM Jagadish Sarkar of BPF and Diganta Kumar Barua of BJP, among seven candidates.

In 36 Harisinga (ST), a triangular contest is likely among Rinjoy Boro of BJP, former Speaker of BTC Tridip Daimari of BPF and Sanjay Swargiary of UPPL, i.e., among five contestants.

In 37 Dwhwnsri (ST), a four-cornered contest is likely among Radheswar Boro of BJP, Fresh Mushahari of BPF, Mitha Ram Basumatari of AIUDF and Rujugra Mwchahari of UPPL among seven contestants.

In 38 Bhairabkunda (ST),former NDFB secretary Gobinda Basumatari of UPPL has been challenging former MCLA Ripen Daimari of BPF, among six candidates.

In 39 Pasnwi Sergfang (non-ST), a tough triangular contest is likely among Dipak Mour of BJP, Shyam Sundi of BPF and Deepak Bhoral of UPPL, i.e., among six contestants.

In 40 Rowta (ST), there are eight contestants. But the contest is likely to be limited to Dr Nilut Swargiary of UPPL, Kasta Ram Baglari of BJP and Khagen Chandra Mochahari of BPF.

Next Story