Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Tinsukia Rly lift Capt Jintu Gogoi trophy

By Staff correspondent

DIBRUGARH, Dec 19 - Tinsukia Railway Division Sports Football Club clinched the title in the 12th Captain Jintu Gogoi Memorial Football Tournament defeating Lengharijan Tea Estate 1-0 in the final played at the Chowkidinghee ground here today.

Nabin Saownra of Tinsukia Railway scored the lone goal of the match in the 10th minute. Lengharijan Tea Estate had ample opportunities during the second session but failed to capitalize the scoring opportunities.

The winning team was given away a cash prize of Rs 50,000 along with the champions� trophy while the runners-up team became richer by Rs 30,000. Third position holder Barekuri Football Coaching Club received Rs 20,000.

All the participating teams were also given Rs 3000 each.

James Topno and Lawrence Topno of Lengharijan Tea Estate received the highest scorer and the best goalkeeper awards respectively. Nabin Saownra of the Tinsukia team was adjudged the best player. They were honoured with cash prize of Rs 1000 each.

Jitubor Sonowal officiated the match as referee while he was assisted by Ashim Hazarika, Bishnujyoti Lason and Robin Konwar.

Brigadier SS Maini, Commandant 181 Mountain (Laipuli) Brigade, Honorary Flying Officer T R Gogoi, father of Captain Jintu Gogoi, Deputy Commissioner M S Manivannan, Commanding Officer of the 19 JAT Regiment Col P K Khanduri, Commandant of 171 Bn CRPF Jagdish Prasad Pangal, Superintendent of Police Bir Bikram Gogoi and several other army and civil officials were present on the occasion.

The Captain Jintu Gogoi Memorial Football Tournament is annually organised by Dao Division of the Army and conducted by Dibrugarh District Sports Association in association with the district administration.

Next Story