Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Thousands participate in Abhiruchi Sports Day

By Sports reporter

GUWAHATI, Sept 3 � Several thousands sports loving persons, majority of whom were children from 32 city based schools, joined in the Airtel Mass Jogging, organised on the occasion of the 27th Abhiruchi Sports Day here today.

The central function of the day, which is organised to celebrate the birthday of Assam�s first Arjuna Award winning athlete Bhogeswar Baruah, started with mass jogging from Chandmari flyover and culminated at the RG Baruah Sports Complex. Local MLA Capt Robin Bordoloi flagged off the jogging which was led by another Arjuna awardee of the State Monalisa Baruah Mehta. International athletes � Taibun Nesha, Shiva Thapa, noted litterateur Dr Hiren Gohain, former minister Biraj Kr Sarma � were some of the leading persons who joined the jogging.

Bhogeswar Baruah, who is undergoing treatment in a local hospital here, thanked the organisers and participants for successfully holding the event and congratulated all the persons who were felicitated on the occasion.

After the jogging event, group dance and PT competitions were held among the school children.

On the occasion, the organisers honoured sportspersons who represented the Indian team last year. The honoured athletes are: Fariha Zaman (swimming), Samir Das, Mazharul Islam (both karate), Shiva Thapa, Rumi Gogoi (both boxing), Th Kabita Devi, Manik Boro, N Chouba Devi, Ritu Neog, N Priya Rani Devi (all fencing), Bobby Baishya (netball), Surendra Bhandari, Ajoy Basfor (both taekwondo), Alen Deori (football), Sushil Kr Singh, L Thainu Singh (both sepak takraw), Krishna Das (cricket), Anjali Kalita, Hirakjyoti Neog (both badminton), Jayanta Talukdar, Parasan Nath, Hemanta Basumatary, Sanjoy Boro, Belshri Narzary, Pratima Boro (all archery).

On the other hand, Dr Brajen Gohain (Sashi Sarma Organiser Award), Romario Sharma (Dilip Sarma Promising Cricketer Award), Mohan Bora (Rajnath Baruah Coach Award), Asmita Chaliha (badminton), Alari Gayary (taekwondo) (Gopal Baruah promising player award) were honoured with different awards on the occasion.

The organisers also felicitated Bipin Ch Deka, Dr Sunil Baruah, Trailukya Bhagawati, Dr Mahanta Kr Kalita, Danda Kumai for their contribution to the development of sports.

In mass jogging, Pub Guwahati HS got the first prize, while Anand Academy came second. Disneyland HS, Maharshi Vidya Mandir Rajgarh and Uzanbazar Balika Vidyalaya got third, fourth and fifth positions respectively. Among the clubs, SAI got the first position, while Young Star Football Coaching Centre and Guwahati Kho Kho Coaching Centre took the second and third positions respectively.

In group dance, St Mary�s School came first, while Maharshi Vidya Mandir, Rajgarh, TC Girls HSS and Rukminigaon Girls HS got second, third and fourth positions respectively. In PT competition Maharshi Vidya Mandir, Rajgarh, TC Girls HSS and Maharshi Vidya Mandir, Kalipur took the first three positions.

At Dergaon, Abhiruchi Sports Day was celebrated with a day-long programme. Apart from other activities, national players Naren Gogoi, Abhijit Barua and Kushal Lahon were felicitated by Dergaon DSA.

Next Story