Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Study centres to be set up for tea tribes

By Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, Jan 9 - Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi assured a delegation of the Assam Tea Tribes Students� Association (ATTSA) that a State-level academic centre would be set up in Guwahati to coach students of the tea communities to help them enhance their performance in the competitive examinations, said an official press release here today.

The ATTSA delegation, led by its president Prahlad Gowala, met the Chief Minister at his official residence at Khanapara here late last evening, and had an hour-long discussion with him on the issues concerning the tea communities, the release said. In the course of the discussion, Gogoi said the Government is mulling the idea to set up study centres in the subdivisions as well as district headquarters for the benefit of students of the tea communities.

He said the Government would take steps to improve further the health facilities in the tea gardens. He assured the delegation that steps would be initiated to install individual electric metres in every tea worker�s household.

He also told them that the Government would initiate steps to arrange posting of more language teachers in tea gardens.

Gogoi said the Government is taking stringent punitive action against those tea garden managements who have failed to implement the Plantation Labour Act.

�Deputy Commissioners have been directed to monitor the implementation of the Plantation Labour Act and to take stringent punitive action against those managements who have failed to comply with the provisions of the Act,� the Chief Minister said.

He further assured the delegation that the Government would look into other ATTSA demands that include, among others, a special package for revival of 15 gardens under the Assam Tea Corporation (ATC), setting up of a hospital for the ATC-run tea gardens, ration for tea workers in ATC-run gardens, enhancement of wages and a special package for students of tea garden communities.

The meeting was attended, among others, by Additional Chief Secretary VB Pyarelal, Additional Chief Secretary SL Mewara and Principal Secretary PK Borthakur, the release added.

Next Story