Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

State registers 3.25% voter increase

By Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, Jan 12 - The number of voters in the State has gone up by 3.25 per cent as per the final electoral roll released by the Election Commission.

As per the final roll with January 1, 2016, as the qualifying date released by the Chief Electoral Office, Assam, the total number of voters who will be eligible to exercise their franchise is 1,98,66,496.

This is an increase of 3.25 per cent over the number of electors in the draft roll released last year, as per the data released by the office of the Chief Electoral Office, Assam. The net increase in the number of voters is 6,45,038, it added.

The number of male voters is 1,02,72,287 and that of female voters is 95,94,209.

Of the 126 Legislative Assembly Constituencies (LACs) in Assam, Margherita constituency has registered the highest jump of 8.2 per cent in the number of electorates. Among other constituencies with major rise in the number of voters are Dhekiajuli (5.51 per cent), Rangapara (5.39 per cent), Sootea and Majbat (both 5.32 per cent), South Salmara (5.1 per cent) and Katlichara (5 per cent).

None of the constituencies have witnessed a decrease in the number of eligible voters.

The LACs which have recorded the smallest growth in the electorate size are Howraghat (1.26 per cent), Tinsukia (1.28 per cent), Palasbari (1.61 per cent), Nazira (1.67 per cent) and Dibrugarh (1.72 per cent).

Among the 27 districts of Assam, Chirang has reported the biggest jump in the number of voters with an increase of 4.67 per cent, followed by Udalguri (4.66 per cent), Dhemaji (4.42 per cent), Sonitpur (4.21 per cent), Golaghat (4.15 per cent), Lakhimpur (3.85 per cent), Dhubri (3.82 per cent), Hailakandi (3.74 per cent), Tinsukia (3.67 per cent) and Nagaon (3.66 per cent), Barpeta (3.50 per cent), Dibrugarh (3.41 per cent), Kokrajhar (3.37 per cent), Baksa (3.37 per cent), Darrang (3.37 per cent), Bongaigaon (3.35 per cent), Nalbari (3.11 per cent), Karimganj (3.06 per cent), Cachar (3.02 per cent), Kamrup (2.70 per cent), Jorhat (2.70 per cent) Morigaon (2.64 per cent), Karbi Anglong (2.62 per cent), Kamrup Metropolitan (2.57 per cent), Goalpara (2.43 per cent), Sivasagar (2.34 per cent) and Dima Hasao (1.89 per cent).

Next Story