Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Stage set for Great Guwahati Run

By Sports reporter

GUWAHATI, Oct 23 � Pride East Entertainments (News Live and Rang) is all set to organise the Great Guwahati Run on October 30 in memory of the innocent victims of blast in various places of the State on that black day in 2008.

Addressing a press conference here today Nitumoni Saikia, official of the organising committee said they have almost completed all the arrangements for the Run which will be organised in two parts. One is competitive part where participants have to run 12 kms, from Judges� Field to Dispur and back to RG Baruah Sports complex. The competition is open for both men and women and the organisers are expecting runners from all over the country. The winners in both sections will get Rs 50,000 while the second and third position holders will become richer by Rs 30,000 and Rs 20,000 respectively. Fourth to 10th position holders will also get prize-money ranging from Rs 15,000 to Rs 2,000. The Run will start at 6 pm.

Apart from prize-money the organisers will provide travelling allowance and accommodation for the participants from out side the city and recommended by their respective sports associations. Students have to get certificates from the authorities of their respective institutions.

The organisers revealed that a Peace Run will also be organised at 8 am on the same day from the Judges� Field to RG Baruah Sports Complex, where Bollywood stars like Dino Morea, Zarim Khan, Ismail Darbar, Monali Thakur along with leading sportspersons like Md Azaruddin, P Gopichand, Saba Karim, finalists of Zee TV SaReGaMaPa will take part in the Peace Run. The organisers will also pay tribute to the victims of October 30, 2008 blasts by lighting lamps at CJM Court premises and Ganeshguri. The organisers have urged people from all walks of life to take part in the Peace Run which has been organised with an aim to build a terror free, united, peaceful and healthy society.

Assam Athletic Association (AAA) secretary Pradip Nunisa said they will provide all technical support to the competitive run with 40 officials. Pranab Saikia, Kaushik Bezbaruah, Uzzal Hazarika and Mayukha Sarma were also present in the press conference and highlighted on different angles of the event.

Next Story