Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Sri Lanka lift 5th Asia Cup trophy

By The Assam Tribune

MIRPUR, March 8 (PTI): Sri Lanka today regained the Asia Cup trophy with a comfortable five-wicket victory over defending champions Pakistan, riding on Lasith Malinga�s five-wicket haul and opener Lahiru Thrimanne�s fluent century, here.

Sri Lanka were clinical as they restricted Pakistan to a modest 260 for five and then overhauled the target with 22 balls to spare to lift their fifth Asia Cup title. The last time they won the regional championship was in 2008.

Malinga pegged Pakistan back as he demolished the rival top order with his fierce pace and it was Fawad Alam�s magnificent unbeaten 114 that guided the holders to a decent total after deciding to bat.

Pakistan skipper Misbah ul Haq (65) and Umar Akmal (59) too batted with determination with fighting half-centuries as none of other Lankan bowlers could take a wicket.

Alam added 122 runs for the fourth wicket with Misbah and 115 with Akmal for the fifth at Shere Bangla stadium.

The Island nation had started brilliantly but spinner Saeed Ajmal removed Kusla Perera (42) and Kumar Sangakkara (0) off successive balls in the 11th over to take the fight to the rival camp.

However, Mahela Jayawardene (75) perfectly timed his return to form as he joined Thirimanne at the crease and added 156 runs for the third wicket in 27 overs. The partnership pushed Sri Lanka close to win.

Thirimanne scored 101 runs, his third ODI century, and faced 108 balls in his innings which was laced with 13 fours.

The left-handed batsman was bowled by Ajmal when Sri Lanka were just 14 runs away from the win. Bowling his final over, Ajmal beat the defense of Thirimanne with a �doosra�.


P a k i s t a n

Sharjeel Khan c T Perera b Malinga 8

Shehzad c Sangakkara b Malinga 5

Hafeez c Sangakkara b Malinga 3

Misbah-ul-Haq c K Perera b Malinga 65

Fawad Alam not out 114

Umar Akmal c Priyanjan b Malinga 59

Shahid Afridi not out 0

Extras: (LB-1, WD-5) 6

Total: (For 5 wickets in 50 overs) 260

Fall of wickets: 1-8, 2-17, 3-18, 4-140, 5-255.

Bowling: L Malinga 10-0-56-5. S Lakmal 10-2-41-0, S Senanayake 9-0-54-0, T Perera10-1-66-0, A Mathews 7-1-23-0, PC de Silva 4-0-19-0.


Perera st Akmal b Ajmal 42

Thirimanne b Saeed Ajmal 101

Sangakkara lbw b Saeed Ajmal 0

Jayawardene c Sharjeel Khan b Talha 75

Priyanjan c Umar Akmal b Junaid Khan 13

Mathews not out 16

De Silva not out 6

Extras: (b 1, lb 1, w 5, nb 1) 8

Total: (5 wickets; 46.2 overs) 261

Fall of wickets: 1-56, 2-56, 3-212, 4-233, 5-247.

Bowling: Hafeez 9-0-42-0, Umar Gul 6-0-44-0, Junaid Khan 9-0-56-1, Ajmal 10-2-26-3, Mohammad Talha 6.2-0-56-1, Afridi 6-0-35-0

Next Story