Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Siu-ka-pha laid foundation of united Assam: CM

By The Assam Tribune
Bi-annual meet of Dibrugarh unit of ATASU ends

ANN Service

DULIAJAN, Feb 22: The All Tai Ahom Students’ Union (ATASU), since its inception, has devoted itself to the cause of a united Assam. It has taken a lot of initiatives for the empowerment of the Assamese race on social, economic, political and economic fronts, said Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal while participating in the 10th bi-annual general conference of the Dibrugarh district unit of the ATASU at Bhadoi Panchali at Duliajan as the chief guest on Sunday.

Reflecting on the ideals of the first Ahom king, Chaolung Siu-ka-pha, Sonowal said that Siu-ka-pha laid the foundation of a united Assam and the Assamese race as a whole should imbibe his ideals to establish itself as one of the world’s most empowered races.

Praising ATASU for following in the footsteps of Siu-ka-pha, he said, “Today is the age of competition. One has to improve his or her skills and work extra hard to achieve their goals in life.

Addressing a crowd of more than one thousand at the Godadhar Singha Samannay Kshetra at Bhadoi Panchali, Sonowal further said that the BJP-led government has been following the path shown by Chaolung Siu-ka-pha and hence it has given equal importance to all communities in Assam.

He said the State government has already sanctioned funds for construction of a memorial at the Charaideo Pahar in memory of the 42 Ahom kings and in order to encourage deeper studies on Siu-ka-pha, the government has established a chair in his name as well. The open meeting was anchored by the general secretary of the State reception committee of the bi-annual conference, which began on February 20.

The meeting was presided over by the president of the Dibrugarh district unit of ATASU, Nipan Phukan.

The president of ATASU central committee and chairman of the newly formed Tai Ahom Development Council Litul Buragohain, Pallab Gopal Jha, Deputy Commissioner, Dibrugarh, ATASU joint secretaries Manoj Gogoi and Milan Buragohain, Duliajan MLA Terosh Gowala, Indra Gogoi, vice chairman, AGCL, Taranga Gogoi, State BJP general secretary, ATASU working president Kumud Gogoi attended the meeting.

Next Story