Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Simultaneous polls in Ranikor and South Tura on Aug 23:ECI

By Staff Correspondent

SHILLONG, July 27 - Election Commission of India today announced that simultaneous Assembly bye-elections would be held at South Tura and Ranikor constituencies of Meghalaya on August 23.

The Commission said that the last date for filing of nomination has been fixed on August 6 and August 7 as the last date for scrutiny of nominations. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is August 9 and the counting would be held on August 27. These are the same dates that have been earmarked for South Tura bye-elections earlier.

The official gazette notification would be issued on July 30 and the model code of conduct would immediately come into force, the ECI said.

The South Tura seat has fallen vacant after the sitting MLA Agatha Sangma, sister of Chief Minister Conrad Sangma resigned to pave way for her brother to contest from the seat. The CM is currently a member of the Parliament from Tura seat.

On the other hand, MM Danggo, former Congress strongman from the area, resigned from the seat and the party and later joined National People�s Party. He is going to contest from the seat again and try to retain it for the sixth consecutive term.

Meanwhile, ECI made the announcement for holding simultaneous polls in the two vacant seats after Congress and UDP demanded for the same.

PTI adds: EC on July 23 announced the date for South Tura. Meghalaya Chief Electoral Officer FR Kharkongor said the results will be declared on August 27.

Next Story