Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Silchar girls win State Games football title

By Correspondent

SILCHAR, Jan 11 - There were jubilant scenes at the SM Dev stadium on Monday as the women footballers of Silchar thrashed Kokrajhar 2-0 to win the final match to bag the gold medal in the ongoing 3rd State Games. Striker Naucha Sharma found the opponent net early in the 10th minute giving the home side a crucial lead in the first half. Kokrajhar players looked clueless in the second half as Phirthangpui Hmar sealed victory for the home team scoring the second goal in the 72nd minute.

In an exciting finish to the Men�s final match played at the same venue, Goalpara won gold defeating Kokrajhar 3-2 via tie-breaker. Santosh Rabha scored the first goal in the 24th minute and carried on the lead till Jitendra Bramha finally found the equaliser for Kokrajhar in the 90th minute.

Meanwhile, Silchar wrestlers Joylal, Dipak and Omkar brought glory by winning the gold in the Men�s 70 kg,74 kg and 86 kg wrestling events respectively. In table tennis Women�s team event final, players from Nagaon won gold beating Guwahati.

Sonitpur cyclist Bishmita Gogoi won gold in the 14 km Women�s individual event and partnered Sayanika Gogoi and Purabi Devi to give her district gold in the 20 km team event . Gupika Saikia, Dipika Saikia and Tina Baruah helped North Lakhimpur win silver while cyclists from Cachar got a bronze in this category. In the 20km Men�s individual cycling segment, Kamrup cyclist Tendon Michael Terang won gold. Guwahati triumphed in the Men�s basketball final winning gold against Goalpara.

Guwahati had a field day in the tennis court as Rupam Boro, Tutu Thapa and Amlan Jyoti Baruah won gold in the Men�s tennis team event. Sivasagar won Silver and Silchar took bronze. Guwahati athletes dominated in athletics. Chintamoni Garh (23.24 seconds) won gold in the Women�s 5000 metre run while Lanchand Ali (16.23 seconds) won gold for Silchar in the Men�s category. Sangita Bordoloi completed the Women�s 800 metres run in 2.43 seconds to win the gold. In javelin throw, Guwahati player Paragmoni Baishya won gold with a distance of 58.20 metres. Runjhun Pegu won gold in the women�s event with a distance of 41.07 metres.

In judo, Nagaon�s Afsana Begam won gold in the Women�s below 40 kg and Mitali Chetri bagged gold in the Women�s below 44 kg event. In the Men�s below 66 kg, Silchar�s Ramesh Chand won gold. Raman Kumar won gold for Silchar in Men�s above 73 kg category.

Next Story