Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Sankaradeva�s birth anniversary celebrations at Gossaigaon


GOSSAIGAON, Aug 27 - The 570th birth anniversary of Srimanta Sankaradeva is going to be observed at Gossaigaon Satra with a two-day colourful programme on September 19-20 next.

Accordingly, a strong reception committee was formed in a meeting held on August 20 at the satra premises under the presidentship of Manik Chandra Deka. Bhupal Baishya, a secretary read out the last year's report of the celebration. This year a budget of Rs three lakh has been earnmaked. Sankari Kala Krishti and namati parties from Abhayapuri, Jinkata and Sarupeta have been invited.

An extempore speech competition on Sankaradeva and Madhabdeva will also be held among students.

On September 20, an open meeting will be held where Asom Satra Mahasabha president Jitendra Nath Pradhani will attend as chief guest and other distinguished persons of the state are also expected to address the open session. Accordingly, a reception committee has also been formed with Manik Deka as president and Bhupal Baishya as general secretary. The meeting was addressed by Shankar Lal Choudhury, Putul Das, Ashiwini Sarma, Parasu Kalita, Rashik Aatoi (Satradhikar) They gave various suggestions for the grand success of the 570th birth anniversary of Mahapurush Srimanta Sankaradeva.

Govt. Pensioners Association's biennial conference: The third biennial conference of Gossaigaon Subdivision Govt Pensioners Association will be held at the Sishu Kalyan Siksha Mandir ME & LP School on September 30 next. This was decided at an executive meeting of the Association held at Gossaigaon recently under the presidentship of Chahendra Nath Brahma. The two-year term of the last executive body will come to an end on September 25 next.

To conduct the conference, a budget of Rs 1 lakh has been earmarked. A reception committee has also been constituted. The central committee president and the general secretary have been proposed to be invited as the chief guest and the guest of honour

Dr Kameswar Brahma, ex-president, Bodo Sahitya Sabha, MLA Majendra Narzary, EM, BTC, Mritunjoy Narzary, ADC Kokrajhar I/C, Gossaigaon subdivision, Wilburn S. Daimary, president, Senior Citizens Association, Gossaigaon Subdivison Jopendra Nath Narzary and the Gossaigaon Town Committee Chairman Dhruba Brahma Narzary will be invited as the guests of honour, informs Khanindra Nath Das, general secretary of the subdivision branch, Gossaigaon.

For the successful holding of the conference, Rangalal Dutta, Ranjit Kr Roy, Subal Rudra Paul, Md Sukur Ali, Gopi Mohan Brahma, Surjya Ghosh gave various suggestions. It is expected that 400 to 500 delegates from all over Gossaigaon subdivision will participate in the conference.

Next Story