Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Rupkonwar�s contributions recalled

By Correspondent

UDALGURI, Jan 19 � Along with the rest of the district, the death anniversary of Rupkonwar Jyotiprasad Agarwalla was observed here by the Udalguri anchalik AASU and in association with the Udalguri Lekhika Sangstha and Udalguri Kavi Samaj with a day-long programme.

The AASU activists celebrated the day by arranging competitions on Jyoti Sangeet, quiz and poetry recitation and drawing competitions among the school children at the Sankar Mission High School.

While, the Udalguri Mahila Sangstha and the Udalguri Kavi Samaj observed the Shilpi Divas at the residential premises of Bhabesh Dutta, a renowned poet of Udalguri district which was conducted by Dinesh Das, an assistant teacher of Sankar Mission High School. Pratibha Saharia Nath, Presidents� best teacher awardee and renowned writer and Sashi Kumar Sarmah, renowned writer of Udalguri spoke on the contribution of Jyoti Prasad Agarwalla. More than thirty poets recited their poems and the epoch making poems of the Rupkonwar on the occasion. Gautam J Talukdar of Udalguri Kavi Samaj anchored the whole programme and offered votes of thanks on the occasion.

Diphu: With the rest of the other parts of the State, Silpi Divas was observed in Karbi Anglong hill district on Tuesday. A two-day-long programme was chalked out on the occasion at Howraghat Sankar Mandir premises under the aegis of the United Karbi Anglong Student Union (UKASU).

The programme started with the hoisting the flag of the UKASU and it was unfurled by Pratap Sing Bey, president, UKASU at 8 am. After the programme of paying homage and lighting of candle, the competitions like Joyti sangeet, Bhupendra sangeet, fine-art etc., were held among the students. The organising committee informed that various cultural related functions along with dance competition on Joyti and Bhupendra sangeet was held among the students on Wednesday.

Nagaon: The poor artistes of the district will be felicitated on the occasion of Silpi Divas from next year and cash of Rs 5000/- along with other items, this was disclosed by Rockybul Hussain, Minister of Forest and Tourism while taking part in a function arranged near the statue of Jyoti Prasad Agarwala.

He further stressed on taking steps to popularise the traditional songs, cinemas, literature etc., among the new generation. He also paid floral tributes at the statue of Jyoti Prasad

The president of Marowari Sanmilani Bajranglal Agarwala, former vice president of Asam Sahitya Sabha Indreswar Goswami and others addressed the gathering and paid floral tributes to the cultural icon.

The AJYCP and Nagaon Press Club jointly organised another function at the press club premises to mark the occasion. Well known actor Guna Mahanta chaired the meeting. Cine director Arup Manna attending the function and recalled the role played by Jyotiprasad Agarwalla. The AJYCP State publicity secretary Biren Saikia , writer Girish Das also spoke a few words.

Renowned artist Gopal Pradhan was formally felicitated on the occasion by the Nagaon Press Club secretary Parigyan Kalita. Jiten Barkataki explained the significance of the function.

The Bhogali Bihu Udjapan Samity, Sadau Asam Gramya Puthibharal Santha and other organisations also observed the day with various cultural functions.

Jagiroad: Silpi-Divas was also observed by the various organisations under Mayong circle in different places with various programmes.

Nellie Anchalik Students� Union organised a day-long Silpi Divas programme at Nellie in which Atanu Sarmah, secretary of Asom Unnati Sabha, Abanti Kumar Bora and Tapan Saikia, central executive members of AASU, Mun Thakuria, president, Morigaon district unit of AASU, Uddhab Senapati, founder president of Tiwa Sahitya Sabha, attended.

Silpi-Divas was also observed at the premises of Silpi Kanakeswar Baruah Sangeet Vidyalay, Jagi Bhakat gaon with a day-long programme. Art and quiz competitions were also organised among the school students to mark the occasion.

A seminar on Jyoti Prasad Agarwalla was also organised in which Hiren Sarma, Adhan Bora, Renudhar Konwar participated.

Next Story