Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Rajasthan Royals cruise to 22-run win

By The Assam Tribune

JAIPUR, April 8 (PTI): ODI specialist Manoj Tiwary scored a half-century but that wasn�t enough as Rajasthan Royals coasted to a comfortable 22-run win over Kolkata Knight Riders in an Indian Premier League match, here today.

Rajasthan registered their second win of the tournament today after thrashing Kings XI Punjab by 31 runs in their lung opener at the Sawai Man Singh Stadium here.

Tiwary scored 59 off 49 balls with seven fours but could never force the issue as he ran out of partners till Brett Lee smashed a quickfire 25 off 11 balls with two fours and two sixes. Cooper cleaned up Lee but by then the match was as good as over.

With the likes Jacques Kallis (5), Brendon McCullum (2), Gautam Gambhir (0), Yusuf Pathan (15) again failed with the willow as Shah Rukh Khan-owned franchise flattered to deceive as it has been the case in the four previous seasons.

Rajasthan bowlers maintained a disciplined line with Caribbean seamer Kevon Cooper being the pick of the bowlers with three for 28. Medium-pacers Amit Singh, Siddharth Trivedi and Mumbai left-arm spinner Ankit Chavan chipped in with two wickets apiece.

Earlier, Australia�s T20 specialist Brad Hodge and local boy Ashok Menaria scored some quick runs to help Rajasthan Royals post a competitive total of 164 for five.


Rajasthan Royals: Rahul Dravid run out 26, Ajinkya Rahane run out 0, Shreevats Goswami b Bhatia 23, Ashok Menaria b Lee 40, Brad Hodge c McCullum b Lee 44, Owais Shah not out 23. Kevon Cooper not out 5. Extras: (NB-1, W-2) 3. Total: (For 5 wkts in 20 overs) 164. Fall of wkts: 1-1, 2- 44, 3-61 , 4-125 , 5- 152. Bowling: Brett Lee 4-0-29-2, J Kallis 4-0-35-0, Sunil Narine 4-0-29-0, Iqbal Abdullah 2-0-16-0, Rajat Bhatia 4-0-27-1, Yusuf Pathan 2-0-28-0.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Jacques Kallis c Dravid b Singh 5, Brendon McCullum lbw b Chavan 2, Gautam Gambhir c Goswami b Singh 0, Manoj Tiwary b Botha 59, Debabrata Das b Cooper 12, Yusuf Pathan c Hodge b Trivedi 15, Rajat Bhatia c&b Trivedi 8, Laxmi Ratan Shukla c Shah b Chavan 8, Brett Lee b Cooper 25, Sunil Narine b Cooper 0, Iqbal Abdulla not out 1. Extras: (B-1, LB-1, W-5) 7. Total: (all out in 20 overs) 142. Fall of wickets: 1-8, 2-8, 3-8, 4-25, 5-66, 6-77, 7-94, 8-132, 9-132. Bowling: Ankeet Chavan 4-0-23-2, Amit Singh 4-0-30-2, Kevon Cooper 4-0-28-3, Siddharth Trivedi 4-1-25-2, Johan Botha 4-0-34-1.

Next Story