Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Raijor Dal candidate withdraws from Dhemaji seat, 5 remain in fray

By The Assam Tribune

Dhemaji, March 13: Narendra Paw, the candidate who submitted his candidature for the Raijor Dal party from No 113 Dhemaji Legislative Assembly constituency for the forthcoming Assam Assembly Election, withdrew his nomination papers on Friday.

In a press meet organised by the party in Dhemaji Press Club on Friday, Narendra Paw revealed that he withdrew his nomination papers from the constituency in order to prevent division of anti-BJP votes so that the saffron party candidate could be defeated in the said constituency in the ensuing Assembly poll.

The press meet was attended by Raijor Dal Vice President Harikanta Das and Benu Debanath, Dhemaji district secretary of the party.

Now 5 candidates remained in the fray for the Dhemaji LAC seat after Narendra Paw withdrew from the contest.

The five candidates are - present BJP MLA Dr. Ranoj Pegu, Sailen Sonowal (Congress), Chittaranjan Basumatary (Raijor Dal), Harikanta Miri (SUCI-C) and independent candidate Ayub Khang Brahma.

Next Story