Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Rahul, Chahal star in India�s biggest T20 win

By The Assam Tribune
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Linkedin
  • Print
  • koo
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Linkedin
  • Print
  • koo
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Linkedin
  • Print
  • koo

CUTTACK, Dec 20: KL Rahul hit a classy half-century as India continued their domination over Sri Lanka to register a massive 93-run win, their biggest victory in T20 Internationals, here today.

Opening the batting, Rahul struck a quick 61 off 48 balls before leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal (4/23) triggered Sri Lanka�s collapse to register the convincing win in the first T20 International of the three-match series.

The 93-run win is India�s biggest win in T20 Internationals, bettering the 90-run victory over England recorded in Colombo in September, 2012.

Sent into bat, Rahul�s classy fifty and some sensible batting from Mahendra Singh Dhoni (39 not out) and Manish Pandey (32 not out) powered India to a challenging 180 for three.

Chahal then finished with brilliant figures of 4 for 23, taking wicket in each of his four overs to lead Sri Lanka�s downfall as the visitors Lanka were bundled out for 89 in 16 overs on a dew-laden Barabati Stadium.

After the leg-spinner�s guile, it was Kuldeep Yadav�s turn to get into the act with figures of 2 for 18 as the wrist spin duo once again did the job for India.

It was yet another pathetic batting show by the Sri Lankans, who showed little resistance as wickets kept tumbling after Upul Tharanga�s 16-ball 23-run burst.

Earlier, in the absence of first-choice opener Shikhar Dhawan, Rahul grabbed the opportunity with both hands hitting seven fours and one six en route to a 48-balls 61 after being put into bat by Sri Lanka skipper Thisara Perera.

Rahul and number three Shreyas Iyer (24) put together 63 runs from 46 balls as India looked to push for a 200-run mark on a two-paced Barabati wicket before Sri Lanka bounced back dismissing the duo in a span of 11 balls.

But former skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who was promoted to number four, smashed an unbeaten 22-ball 39 and Pandey had other plans as the duo stitched an unbeaten 68-run stand off 34 balls for the fourth wicket to prop up India�s total.

In reply, Sri Lanka showed hardly any fight.

Playing his first match since his T20I debut in June 2016, left-arm pacer Jaydev Unadkat (1/7) returned to the side with elan, giving India the breakthrough in the second over. � PTI



Rohit c Chameera b Mathews 17

Rahul b Thisara Perera 61

Iyer c Dickwella b N Pradeep 24

Dhoni not out 39

Pandey not out 32

Extras: (B-1, LB-1, W-4, NB-1) 7

Total: (for 3 wkts in 20 overs) 180

Fall of wickets: 38-1, 101-2, 112-3

Bowler: Vishwa Fernando 2-0-16-0, Akila Dananjaya 4-0-3-0, Dushmantha Chameera 3-0-38-0, Angelo Mathews 3-0-19- 1, Thisara Perera 4-0-37-1, Nuwan Pradeep 4-0-38-1.

Sri lanka

Dickwella c Rahul b Unadkat 13

Tharanga c Dhoni b Chahal 23

Perera c Dhoni b Kuldeep Yadav 19

Mathews c & b Chahal 1

Gunaratne st Dhoni b Chahal 4

Shanaka c Pandya b Kuldeep 1

Perera st Dhoni b Chahal 3

Dananjaya c & b Pandya 7

Chameera c Rahul b Pandya 12

Fernando c Unadkat b Pandya 2

Fernando not out 0

Extras: (w 2) 2

Total: (all out (16 Overs, RR: 5.43) 87

Fall of wickets: 1-15, 2-39, 3-46, 4-55, 5-58, 6-62, 7-70, 8-76, 9-85, 10-87.

Bowling: Pandya 4-0-29-3, Unadkat 2-0-7-1, Chahal 4-0-23-4, Bumrah 2-0-10-0, Kuldeep 4-0-18-2.

Next Story