Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Pratima Barua Pandey remembered at Gauripur

By Correspondent

GAURIPUR, Dec 28 - Under the aegis of Dhubri District Students� Union and in association with the Gauripur branch students body, the thirteenth death anniversary of the Goalpariya folk singer Pratima Barua Pandey was observed with a day-long programme here on Sunday.

After flag hoisting and swahid tarpan by various organisations and individuals including local MLA BK Mushahary floral tributes were paid to the empress of the Goalpariya folk song.

Later, a cultural evening was also organised. An award on the remarkable memory of Pratima Barua Pandey was conferred to Mainul Haque of Marusmati Silpi Samaj of Agamani.

Similar memorial meeting was also organised at BN College, Dhubri, at Kaldoba under Agamoni circle, Bilasipara and in some other places of the district on Sunday where the famous singer was remembered.

Memorial meet held: Under the auspices of the Bipin Chakrabarty memorial celebration committee, the 21st death anniversary of pioneer leader of the working classes, renowned freedom fighter and selfless and fearless journalist Bipin Chakrabarty was observed with a two-day long programme on December 26 and 27 last at the historic Kalibari of Dhubri.

On December 26, an art competition on three groups was organised. The memorial meet held in the evening was chaired by Murarimohan Sarkar, president of the celebration committee. Various organisations and individuals paid floral tributes to the famous leader. A mini book fair and a collection of poems named Nirbachita Bangla Kabya Sankalan were also released by Prof Debendra Nath Sharma. A cultural evening was also held.

On the second day of the celebration a seminar on the topic �Economic inequality in India: causes and remedies� was organised where Murarimohan Sarkar, Ramabatar Sharma, Debendra Nath Sharma attended as resource persons. A number of poets were also felicitated on the occasion and a multilingual poets meet was held. Dilip Chakrabarty, general secretary of the celebration committee offered the vote of thanks.

Next Story