Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Pratidin enter final

By Sports reporter

GUWAHATI, Jan 29 � Asomiya Pratidin became the first team to enter the final of the Media Cricket Tournament after a thrilling 6-run victory against DY 365 at the Judges� Field here today.

In the low scoring semifinal, Pratidin managed to score 119 for five in the stipulated 20 overs. Jagjit Singh cracked a 55-ball 50 with two boundaries. Other Pratidin batsmen could not counter the accurate DY bowling as Ankur Dutta captured two wickets giving away 28 runs.

Although it seemed to a reachable target, the Pratidin bowlers, led by former Ranji player Tauhid Ali Talukdar, restricted the opponent to 113 for seven.

Naba Kalita (40 off 47 balls, one 4 and a six) and Kishore Talukdar (29, off 33 balls, three 4s) tried their hearts out to cross the opponents� total. But the Pratidin bowlers overpowered the DY batsmen with some calculative bowling. Man-of-the-match Manjit Sarma and Hemchandra Pathak came out with two wickets each.

Brief scores: Pratidin 119/5 (Jagjit Singh 50, Manjit Sarma 19, Biswajit Deka 16, Ankur Borthakur 2/28). DY 365 113/7 (Naba Kalita 40, Kishore Talukdar 29, Ankur Borthakur 18, Manjit Sarma 2/15, Hemchandra Pathak 2/27).

Today�s match: (S/F) Assam Tribune vs News Live.

Next Story