Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Portfolio allocation may be tricky for Manipur CM

By Newmai News

IMPHAL, June 26 - Following the reconciliation of the four dissident MLAs of the Manipur unit of the National People�s Party (NPP) with the BJP-led coalition Government on Thursday, the political storm in the State seems to have blown over. However, Chief Minister Biren Singh will now have to grapple with the issue of portfolio distribution among them.

All the four NPP legislators were Cabinet ministers before their withdrawal of support to the State Government on June 17. As that they have rejoined the Government, they will not settle for anything less than what they had, prior to their resignation. Among these MLAs, Yumnam Joykumar Singh was also the Deputy Chief Minister.

The fact that other BJP legislators are also likely to vie for ministerial berths, will make the task trickier.

Meanwhile, speaking on the sidelines of a function held to inaugurate a parking space for residents of Thangal Keithel at Naga Nullah here today, the Chief Minister hinted that he might go to New Delhi to discuss the issue of allotment of ministerial berths, with Central leaders.

Referring to the recent political crisis in the State, the Chief Minister played it down, stating that it was �normal in politics�. Things have been sorted out, he claimed.

On June 17, the four NPP legislators had pulled out of the coalition Government. NPP Legislature Party leader Y Joykumar Singh resigned as the Deputy Chief Minister, while his party colleagues L Jayentakumar Singh resigned as the Health and Family Welfare Minister, Letpao Haokip as the Agriculture Minister and N Kayisii resigned as the Fisheries Minister.

On the same day, three BJP legislators � Samuel Jendai of Tamenglong, TT Haokip of Henglep and Soibam Subhaschandra of Naoriya Pakhanglakpa � resigned from the primary membership of the party as well as the State Assembly.

Next Story