Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Political parties gearing up for polls in Manipur

By Sobhapati Samom

IMPHAL, March � With the announcement of their respective candidates for the forthcoming 16th Lok Sabha polls, political parties in Manipur have geared up their election activities for the polls.

Manipur has two seats in the Lok Sabha. The first of polling for the seat of Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency (Hill districts) would be conducted on April 9 and the second phase of polling for the Inner Manipur Parliamentary (Valley districts) on April 17. So far nine different political parties have announced five candidates for Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency (Valley districts) and seven candidates for Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency (Hill districts).

The five candidates for the inner Manipur parliamentary constituency are sitting Congress MP, Dr Thokchom Meinya, former registrar of Manipur University Dr RK Ranjan of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), former IPS officer S Manaobi (Retd) of Trinamool Congress, Dr G Tonsana Sharma of Manipur Democratic People�s Front.

The seven candidates for the outer Manipur parliamentary constituency are sitting Congress MP and for election officer Thangso Baite, former Higher Education Minister and former Professor of Manipur University Gangmumei Kamei of BJP, former lady MP Kim Gangte of Trinamool Congress, former Manipur minister Soro Lorho of Naga People�s Front, general secretary of JD(U) Manipur unit Lien Gangte, Lamlalmoi Gangte of Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) and former finance minister Chungkhokai Doungel of Nationalist Congress Party. Former MP Kim Gangte is also the president of State unit of All India Trinamool Congress unit. It may be noted that CPI candidate Dr M Nara and JD (U) candidate Lien Gangte are the common candidates of ten non-Congress and non-BJP Left and secular alliance parties for the inner and outer Manipur parliamentary constituencies of the State.

It may be noted that the last date for filing nomination papers has been fixed on March 26 and scrutiny of papers next day. The last date for withdrawal of papers would be on March 29 and counting of votes will be held on May 16.

Meanwhile, Imphal West District Magistrate K Radhakumar has asked all the gun license holders of the district to deposit their licensed arms and ammunitions to the police station concerned on or before March 15 with a view to maintain law and order and peaceful conduct of the election.

Next Story