Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Philosophers� meet concludes at Cotton

By The Assam Tribune

GUWAHATI, April 25 � The two-day Philosophers� Meet-2015, conducted by the Cotton College State University (CCSU) on April 20 and 21, received an overwhelming response, stated a press release. The workshop, sponsored by the Indian Council of Philosophical Research, New Delhi, saw leading philosophers and social scientists of the country exchanging and debating ideas, which included secularism, dharma and democracy, philosophy of science, physics and metaphysics, multiculturalism, religion and religious pluralism, morality, humanism, human rights and community and cultural identity, and philosophy and the human condition.

The release said that during the workshop, an encouraging number of participants, including about 100 teachers and research scholars, students and members of the general public from various parts of the North East, interacted with the panel of experts.

Prof Asha Mukherjee (Visva Bharati, Santiniketan), Prof Rowena Robinson and Prof Amitabha Gupta (both from IIT-Bombay), Prof Ashok Vohra (University of Delhi), Prof Sibnath Sarma (Gauhati University), Prof Manas Ray (Centre for Studies in Social Sciences, Kolkata), Prof Adarasupally Nataraju (Assam University), Prof Satya P Gautam (Jawaharlal Nehru University), Prof Vanlanghak (NEHU), Prof Dilip Kumar Mohanta (University of Calcutta) and Dr Girish Barua (Dergaon College) enlightened the participants through their talks at the CCSU Conference Hall. The four sessions were chaired respectively by Prof Manisha Barua (Gauhati University), Dr Prodip Khataniar (CCSU), Prof Asha Mukherjee and Prof Amitabha Gupta.

Active participation by teachers and students in the workshop and a number of enlightening questions they asked made the discussion sessions lively.

During the last session, Prof Ashok Vohra (University of Delhi) initiated a discussion in which he emphasised the need for the study of philosophy and promoting it as possible career options for students. Dr Jagadish Patgiri of the Department of Philosophy, CCSU, offered the vote of thanks, the release added.

Next Story