Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Patowary woos Singapore companies


GUWAHATI, June 22 - Industries and Commerce Minister Chandra Mohan Patowary today interacted with eleven companies of Singapore through a webinar at Janata Bhawan here. Chief Secretary Kumar Sanjay Krishna and Commissioner and Secretary Dr KK Dwivedi also attended the webinar.

The webinar was coordinated and facilitated by Enterprise Singapore and Invest India. Enterprise Singapore is a statutory board under the Ministry of Trade and Industry in Singapore. The webinar was moderated by Sabrina Ho, Regional Director of Enterprise Singapore.

Representatives of companies such as Advanced Produce Centre Development Pvt Ltd (APC), Agrocorp, Capita Land (Ascott), Nanyang Polytechnic, Skill SG Venture (SSGV), ALLIN Technologies, etc., took part in the webinar.

The Singapore-based companies expressed their interest to invest in Assam in areas like food processing, hospitality sector, infrastructure development, industrial town development, startups, airline catering, skill training, organic farming and marketing.

�Singapore can be a model for accelerated growth in industry, trade and commerce and education sectors in the State,� Patowary said. He added that the Assam government has tied up with ITE Education Service, Singapore for setting up of a skill university at a cost of Rs 850 crore in Darrang district.

Chief Secretary Kumar Sanjay Krishna said historical legacy, policy framework, locational advantage and robust infrastructure are prerequisites for any investment. He cited the instances of the 150-year-old glorious tea industry and Asia�s first oil refinery at Digboi. He also deliberated on the State�s key economic components like oil and natural gas, energy, food processing, agriculture and highlighted Assam�s compound annual growth rate of 12 per cent in the last five years.

Meanwhile, another webinar on �Food Processing Ecosystem in India� was organised by the Ministry of Food Processing Industries and Invest India today where states like Punjab, Andhra Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and Assam and investors from 18 countries participated.

Next Story