Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Pasang Sona elected Arunachal Assembly Speaker


ITANAGAR, June 4 - Three-time MLA from Mechuka, Pasang Dorjee Sona, and his Changlang North counterpart, Tesam Pongte, were today unanimously elected as the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the 7th Legislative Assembly of Arunachal Pradesh respectively, a day after they filed nominations for the respective posts.

As soon as the House assembled for the day�s business, Pro-tem Speaker Phosum Khimhun announced the election of the Speaker.

�One nomination paper has been received proposing the name of Pasang Dorjee Sona as the candidate for the post of Speaker. Sona�s name was proposed by Balo Raja and seconded by Laisam Simai. As there is only one nomination, I am pleased to declare PD Sona elected as Speaker of the 7th Legislative Assembly of Arunachal Pradesh,� the Pro-tem Speaker said.

Son of former Deputy Speaker (1980-85) Pasang Wangsuk Sona, PD Sona got re-elected to the House from Mechuka Assembly Constituency in the newly-created Shi-Yomi district for the third consecutive time on a BJP ticket.

Congratulating Sona on being elected as the Speaker, Khimhun requested him to occupy the chair. Following the democratic traditions, Leader of the House and Chief Minister Pema Khandu, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bamang Felix and senior Congress member Ninong Ering escorted Sona to the Speaker�s chair.

Congratulating Sona, Khandu said: �We have got a good Speaker. Since the day the election results were out, all the members had proposed his name for the Speaker�s post.� He further asked the newly-elected Speaker to strengthen the Secretariat whether it is related to manpower or infrastructure, and assured the Government�s support in fulfilling whatever requirements are there.

Informing that all 41 newly-elected BJP MLAs of the State will go to Mumbai to undergo a four-day training programme within the current month, Khandu requested the new Speaker to arrange such an orientation training for all MLAs irrespective of their party affiliations.

Later, the Speaker announced that two-time MLA from Changlang North, Tesam Pongte, has been unanimously elected as the Deputy Speaker as one nomination was received for the same post. Members of the House, including the Chief Minister, extended their congratulations to Pongte.

Next Story