Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Panchayat awards for Manipur

By Correspondent

IMPHAL, Sept 24 - Manipur has bagged four panchayat awards, including one zila parishad and three gram panchayats for taking developmental schemes in the rural areas.

The Imphal East zila parishad bagged the Deen Dayal Upadhyay Panchayat Sashaktikaran Puraskar, while Phayeng Gram Panchayat under Haorangsabal Block of Imphal West District was chosen for an award in general award category and Waiton Gram Panchayat under Sawombung Block of Imphal East District won the same award in the thematic category.

The Ministry of Panchayati Raj, Government of India has selected Waiton Gram Panchayat of Imphal East District for Nanaji Deshmukh Rashtriya Gaurav Gram Sabha Purashkar 2019 .

In the category of child-friendly Gram Panchayat Award, Thongju Part-II Gram Panchayat under Kshetrigao Block of Imphal East District bagged the award for outstanding performance.

The Ministry of Panchayati Raj has introduced this award under incentivisation scheme with a view to encourage the best performing gram panchayats/village councils for adopting child-friendly practices.

Next Story