Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

OIL Shikshya Ratna Puraskar presented

By Our Bureau

DIBRUGARH, March 24 - Oil India Ltd (OIL), under its educational CSR initiatives, has been awarding �OIL Shikshya Ratna Puraskar� honouring the exemplary services of teachers of Government schools and colleges under Government of Assam since 2013.

At the same time, under �OIL Awards� instituted in the year 2006, OIL has been honouring all State rank-holders in HSLC and HSSLC from OIL operational areas of Assam encouraging the meritorious students.

OIL awarded both OIL Shikshya Ratna Puraskar-2015 and OIL Awards-2014 at a ceremony held on Monday at the Duliajan Club followed by a teachers� workshop. The Shikshya Ratna Puraskar consisted of cash incentive of rupees one lakh and a citation to each awardee present on the occasion. OIL Awards consisted of cash incentive of Rs 15,000 (HSLC) and Rs 20,000 (HSSLC) to each awardee along with a certificate of proficiency.

The ceremony was graced by Biswajit Roy, Director (HR&BD), OIL, JK Borgohain, Resident Chief Executive, OIL and senior officials of the company. The ceremony was also graced by eminent educationalist Dr Mridul Hazarika, Vice-Chancellor of Gauhati University as the Guest of Honour along with reputed trainers from the field of education. The event was attended by more than 400 people including teachers, students, mediapersons, Oilindians, etc.

Roy congratulated the six recipients of the OIL Shikshya Ratna Puraskar and extolled their commendable contributions towards imparting quality education to children. He stated the objective behind initiating the Award i.e. to inspire the teaching fraternity and acknowledge their exemplary contribution in nation building. He also congratulated the students who were conferred OIL Award for their exemplary performance in HSLC and HSSLC examinations, 2014.

Extending his greetings to the winners, Dr Hazarika said that the OIL Shikshya Ratna Puraskar is a great tribute to the teachers� fraternity. He cited the role of teachers in nation building, their passion to nurture knowledge and to generate the spirit of inquisitiveness among students. He congratulated the teachers on their deserving recognition and complimented OIL for taking up the initiative of recognising contribution of teachers� fraternity and their role in nation building.

Borgohain, while congratulating the six recipients of the award also cited the various other projects undertaken under OIL�s CSR that caters to the socio-economic development of people in OIL�s operational areas. He assured that Oil India through CSR initiatives like Shikshya Ratna Puraskar would continue inspiring the teaching fraternity from this region to aspire for greater accomplishments as they play a dynamic role in empowering the youth.

The six teachers whom the OIL Shikshya Ratna Puraskar-2015 was conferred on are: Prabin Chandra Barman, Guwahati Refinery High School, Guwahati; Jharna Saikia, Public High School, Dibrugarh; Diganta Bhajani, Mechaki ME School, Tinsukia; Archana Borah, Bejbari LP School, Lakhimpur; Khagendra Nath Chetia Phukan, Mankata ME School, Dibrugarh; and Sarat Ch Chiring Phukan, Dangari HS School, Tinsukia.

It may be noted that the names as recipients of OIL Shikshya Ratna Puraskar 2015 were announced through press advertisement on Teachers� Day on September 5, 2015. Earlier, the teachers had submitted their self-nomination for the award against a press advertisement released by OIL. IL&FS (Education) was entrusted with the task of scrutinising the entries and conducting the selection process through a jury comprising distinguished members from education fraternity and representatives from Dibrugarh and Gauhati universities.

The 12 students who were conferred the OIL Award-2014 are: Smitakshi Goswami, HSLC, Salt Brook School Dibrugarh; Sannidhya Sharmah, HSLC, BVFC Model High School, Namrup; Rashmi Rekha Borah, HSLC, Little Flower HS School, Dibrugarh; Kashyap Gogoi, HSLC, Dikshu High School, Dikshu; Wasfiya Mazid, HSSLC (Science), Salt Brook Academy, Dibrugarh; Ashwini Buragohain, HSSLC (Science), Salt Brook Academy, Dibrugarh; Ipsita Gogoi, HSSLC (Science), Salt Brook Academy, Dibrugarh; Shruti Kashyap, HSSLC (Science), Salt Brook Academy, Dibrugarh; Tulika Gogoi, HSSLC (Arts), Amguri College, Amguri; Prerona Baruah HSSLC ( Arts), Salt Brook Academy, Dibrugarh; Trishna Boruah, HSSLC (Arts), Salt Brook Academy, Dibrugarh; Sunny Shreya Dutta, HSSLC (Arts), Salt Brook Academy, Dibrugarh.

The award ceremony was followed by a teachers� workshop conducted by resource persons of IL&FS (Education). Around 300 teachers from OIL�s operational areas participated in the workshop.

Next Story