Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Oil India emerge champions

By Correspondent

TINSUKIA, Dec 27 - Oil India Football Club, Duliajan annexed the coveted Swargadeo Sarbananda Singha Memorial Invitation Prize Money Football tournament title defeating City Police 4-1 in the final at the Rajiv Gandhi Sports Complex, Janamukh here.

All the goals were scored in the first half. In a one sided first half of the match, for the winning team, Jayanta Basumatary found the back of the net in the 14th and 30th minute respectively while Minto Boro ensured his brace with goals in the 32nd and 35th minute respectively. The lone goal for the Police side was scored by Rahul Boro in the 44th minute.

The Oil India side walked away with a cash award of Rs. 50,000 along with the champions trophy while the runners up team had to be content with a cash award of Rs. 25,000. Sishu Ram Chutia of Oil India was adjudged the best player of the final match. The prize distribution function was attended by former International footballer, Gilbertson Sangma among others.

Next Story