Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Notification for sixth phase of LS elections issued

By The Assam Tribune

NEW DELHI, March 29 � Notification was issued today for the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha polls in 117 constituencies spread across 12 states, which will go to polls on April 24 to seal the fate of political heavyweights like SP chief Mulayam Singh Yadav and BJP leader Sushma Swaraj, reports PTI.

These constituencies include all the 39 seats of Tamil Nadu and the solitary constituency of Pudducherry.

The Mainpuri seat, from where the SP chief is contesting, is among the 12 constituencies of Uttar Pradesh going to polls on April 24. Yadav is also contesting from Azamgarh.

Ten seats from Madhya Pradesh, including Vidisha from where Swaraj is contesting, will go to poll on that day.

Jharkhand (four seats), Bihar and Chhattisgarh (seven each), Assam and West Bengal (six seats each), Anantnag in Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra (19 seats) and Rajasthan (10 seats) will also go to poll on April 24.

While in Jharkhand, polling will take place between 7 am and 4 pm, in other states, the polling hours will be from 7 am to 6 pm. While April 5 has been set as the last date of filing nominations, scrutiny will take place on April 7. The candidates can withdraw from the electoral race till April 9.

On April 2, notification will be issued for Lok Sabha elections to 89 constituencies across nine states, while on April 12 another notification will be issued for the 8th phase of polling on May 7 in 64 constituencies in seven states.

The ninth and the last phase of General Election will be held on May 12 in which the electorate of 41 constituencies spread across three states will exercise their franchise. The notification for the last phase will be issued on April 17.

Next Story