Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

NF Rly cruise into final

By Sports reporter

GUWAHATI, July 11 - NF Railway Sports Club cruised into the final of the 12th Nripendra Narayan Bhattacharyya Knock-out Football Tournament.

In the first semifinal of the championship played at the Nehru Stadium here today, NF Railway edged past Gauhati Town Club (GTC) by an aggregate of 6-5 goals in penalties after playing 1-1 draw in the regulation time.

After a dry first session, Imlingchaba took GTC ahead in the 52nd minute off a goal mouth melee. As the Railway custodian failed to gather the ball off a centre from Visal Sonar, a melee occurred and finally Imlingchaba punched home from a close range.

But their jubilation was short lived as after three minutes Chayaram Basumatary drew parity with a sharp header anticipating a floater sent by Sibra Narzary from a set piece.

In the penalty shoot-out Sankar Shil, Sibra Narzary, Rajib Boro, KC Lal and Debashis Kundu converted all the five shots while GTC skipper Visal Sonar failed to hit the target. However, Pranjal Bhumij, Boy Singh, Shib Sankar Patgiri and Imlingchaba managed to score from the spot.

Today�s match: (S/F) Police Blues vs Sunrise.

Next Story