Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Newly-elected MLAs take oath in Manipur

By Correspondent

IMPHAL, Nov 12 - The four new MLAs of Manipur, including the three from the ruling BJP, who were elected in the recent by-elections, were sworn in today. They are O Lukhoi (BJP) from Wangoi constituency, Ngamthang Haokip (BJP) from Saitu, Paonam Brojen (BJP) from Wangjing-Tentha and Y Antas Khan (Independent) from Lilong constituency. Manipur Assembly Speaker Yumnam Khemchand administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new MLAs at the newly inaugurated conference hall of the Manipur Assembly premises here in the presence of Chief Minister N Biren Singh, other ministers, MP and MLAs.

Speaking to reporters after the oath-taking ceremony, the Chief Minister said that his Government has invited the lone Independent candidate to join and support the BJP-led Government. Independent MLA Antas Khan said that he would take a decision after consulting his supporters in Lilong constituency.

In the by-elections to five Assembly constituencies, the BJP won four seats � Wangoi in Imphal West district, Wangjing-Tentha in Thoubal district and Saitu in Kangpokpi district � and the Independent wrested the Lilong seat in Thoubal district.

Ahead of the polling, BJP candidate Ginsuanhau had already bagged the Singhat seat in Churachandpur district after his rival candidate withdrew his nomination papers.

The Opposition Congress which contested four seats, drew a blank.

Next Story