Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

New SKAC executive members sworn in


DIBRUGARH, July 5 - Post defections, a new executive Council of the Sonowal Kachari Autonomous Council (SKAC) was formed yesterday with BJP leader Dipuranjan Markary as its Chief Executive Member (CEM).

Deputy Commissioner M S Manivannan administered the oath of office to the new office-bearers of the new executive council in the presence of Forest Minister Pramila Rani Brahma and four BJP MLAs of the district.

The 12 -member BJP executive council includes Madan Chandra Hazarika as Chairman, Ghanakanta Saikia as Vice Chairman, Tankeshwar Sonowal as Deputy CEM, and Rishikesh Saikia, Ridip Hazarika, Umendra Sonowal, Biswajit Sonowal, Dhiren Sonowal, Khanindra Sonowal, Anamika Borsaikia and Diprekha Das Baghri as executive members.

Forest Minister Pramila Rani Brahma in her speech, expressed hope that the new executive council would live upto the expectations of the Sonowal Kacharis. She assured the Council that the State Government would extend all possible help for all-round development of the Sonowal Kachari community.

Dipuranjan Markary, who took over as the CEM of the SKAC, said that he would make every effort to uplift the community. He urged upon the community members to support his endeavours in improving the living standard of the community and bringing about all round development of the society.

�Through strenuous work culture and undeterred support from all of you, we must achieve our aim of community progress and development in all spheres,� he said.

Senior BJP MLA Prasanta Phukan, Duliajan MLA Teres Goala, Lahoal MLA Rituparna Baruah and Moran MLA Chakradhar Gogoi also attended the oath-taking ceremony, amongst other BJP workers.

Next Story