Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

New ministers to take oath on Jan 23

By Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, Jan 20 � Governor PB Acharya this evening accepted the resignation of the fourteen ministers of the Tarun Gogoi Ministry. The oath-taking ceremony of the new ministry will be held on January 23. Portfolios of the new ministers will be distributed after their swearing-in.

The resignation letters were sent by the Chief Minister to the Governor, who is currently in Kohima. The Governor, after receiving the resignation letters, accepted them this evening.

Disclosing this, Bharat Narah, Press Advisor to the Chief Minister, told this newspaper that the portfolios are likely to be distributed on the evening of January 23.

Thirteen Ministers of the Gogoi Ministry had submitted their resignation letters to the Chief Minister yesterday. Power, Industries and Commerce and Education Minister Pradyut Bordoloi had submitted his resignation letter to the Chief Minister about two months back.

Resignation of the Ministers has paved the way for reshuffle of the Tarun Gogoi Ministry, which had become a subject of discussion in a section of the media.

However, due to the absence of the Governor from the State capital, the resignation papers of the Ministers could not be accepted earlier. This had necessitated functioning of the Ministers as usual for the time being.

Next Story