Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

�Neer� presents awards to meritorious students

By The Assam Tribune

GUWAHATI, June 22 - Jorhat Govt. Girls� HS School Alumni Association, popularly known by the acronym �Neer,� awarded three students for their scholastic achievement in the last HSLC and HS examinations, 2018, an e-mail received here stated.

While selecting the bright students for the prize, Neer also considered their economic condition.

Neer presented a cash award along with books and a citation to Ayesha Siddique, who secured highest marks among all the students of her school in the Arts stream in the HS examination.

The award was conferred by Sashi Prabha Borgohain, former student and president of Neer. The Lakika Baruah Memorial Award was presented to Darshana Sharma, who secured highest marks in the HSLC examination. The award was presented by Dr (Prof.) Anuradha Dutta, former student and eminent women activist-cum-writer.

The Subhadra Dutta Memorial Award was presented to Aparajita Payeng, who secured highest marks in the Science stream by Aradhana Baruah, Principal of Govt. Girls� HS School.

Neer organised a brief but significant function where all the executive members of the organisation were present together with teachers and the students. Sashi Prabha Borgohain, who presided over the meeting, along with Dr Anuradha Dutta as the chief guest, inspired all the students with their thought-provoking lectures.

The proud mothers of the awardees were also felicitated with a phulam gamusa each. Neer instituted the awards on behalf of the trusts in memory of the aforementioned personalities. Significantly, economic status of the students was also considered while selecting the awardees.

Next Story