Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Nagaon district admin gears up for polls in seven seats

By The Assam Tribune
Nagaon district admin gears up for polls in seven seats

A Correspondent

NAGAON, March 1: The Nagaon district administration has geared up for conducting the ensuing Assembly polls in seven constituencies of the district during the first and second phases. It has completed almost all preparations for holding a free and fair election.

Addressing a press conference at the Nagaon DC’s conference hall on Saturday evening, Deputy Commissioner-cum-District Election Officer Kavitha Padmanabhan said that as per the schedule issued by the Election Commission of India, the upcoming Assembly polls will be held during the first two phases in the district.

According to the schedule, election will be held in Samaguri, Rupahihat, Batadrova, Dhing and Kaliabor constituencies in the first phase, while in the second phase, polls will be held in Barhampur, Nagaon Sadar and Raha constituencies.

The district administration has already readied around 1,900 polling stations, including 380 auxiliary polling stations in these seven constituencies.

More than a thousand voters will exercise their franchise in each polling station by following Covid-19 protocol, Deputy Commissioner Padmanabhan said.

Padmanabhan said that as per the directives of the Election Commission, everyone must strictly adhere to Covid-19 protocol during the upcoming polls, including during submission of nomination papers.

For the submission of nomination papers, only two persons can accompany one candidate. Besides, only two cars can be used when a candidate visits the office of the returning officer for submission of nomination papers, Padmanabhan stressed.

A total of 6,80,925 male and 6,57,251 female voters in the seven constituencies of the district (excluding Kaliabor constituency) will exercise their franchise this time to elect their respective public representative.

Significantly, a total of 1,20,750 voters, including 33,928 first-time voters in the 18-19 years age group, has increased this time in these constituencies, Padmanabhan said, adding that around 22,052 elderly voters in the district would get postal ballot facilities if they so desire.

Focusing on expenditures by candidates, Padmanabhan mentioned that the Election Commission has fixed Rs 30,80,000 as the maximum expenditure limit in a constituency.

Next Story