GUWAHATI, Jan 25: The biennial general conference of Assam Engineering Service Association was held on January 23 with a day-long programme at the auditorium hall of the Institution of Engineers (India) here at Panbazar, a press release said today.

A new executive body with Dilip Deka as president and Ambika Saloi as general secretary was formed at the conference. Floral tributes were paid to Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose. One-minute silence was also observed in memory of deceased members Achyut Das, Mridul Nath and Nakul Biswas of the irrigation department and Ajay Basumatary, Jagjivan Barua and Sukumar Barua of the Water Resources Department. A few retired members including retired Secretary of Irrigation Subhabrata Sarmah also joined the event and were warmly felicitated. A colourful souvenir edited by Pulak Sarmah was published on the occasion. The special feature of the evening was a Bihu performance by a group of young women engineers.