Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

MDA set to form govt in twin Meghalaya autonomous councils


SHILLONG, March 2 - The Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) led by the NPP is all set to form the executive committees in the Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council (KHADC) and the Jaintia Hills Autonomous District Council (JHADC). The results of the polls held for the twin councils were announced today.

The NPP made major inroads into the two councils for the first time, eclipsing other regional parties like the HSPDP and the PDF.

In the KHADC polls, the Congress won 10 seats, the NPP seven, the UDP six, the HSPDP two, and the PDF one. The Independents bagged three seats and the member for one seat will be nominated by the State Government.

In the JHADC polls, the NPP surged ahead by winning 12 seats, followed by the UDP which won 10 seats. The Congress got four seats and the Independents bagged three. The member for one seat will be nominated by the State Government.

The KHADC polls saw the return of Paul Lyngdoh, Martle Mukhim, RV Lyngdoh and Pynshniang N Syiem.

Former Meghalaya minister and former Khasi Students� Union leader Paul Lyngdoh, who contested from Jaiaw constituency on a UDP ticket, defeated his chief rival, Auguster Jyrwa, by 771 votes. Lyngdoh polled 5,151 votes.

On the other hand, former Cabinet minister and Congress leader Ronnie V Lyngdoh won from Mylliem. Former KHADC CEM PN Syiem defeated his closest competitor, James Ban Basaiawmoit of the PDF, by 240 votes in the Mawkhar-Pynthorumkhrah constituency. It may be mentioned here that all the three leaders had unsuccessfully contested the last Assembly elections held in 2018.

Former Meghalaya minister and former KHADC member, Martle N Mukhim, who contested from Mawky-nrew constituency in East Khasi Hills district, is also among the winners.

The closest encounter in the elections was witnessed at Laban-Mawprem where the UDP�s Ricky Shullai lost to the NPP�s Mitchel Wankhar by 19 votes.

In the JHADC elections, the two MDA partners � NPP and UDP � were involved in a tough fight. The NPP secured 12 seats, while the UDP got 10. The Congress managed to win four seats. Counting for the Mawphlang-Diengiei constituency could not be completed due to an EVM snag. The District Council Affairs Department will take a call if there is a need for repolling.

Among the major winners in the JHADC polls are UDP�s Sankey Shangpung from Bataw Lakadong, NPP�s Jesse Suiam from Ummulong Moodymmai, and Independent candidate Richard Singh Lyngdoh from Sutnga Nongkhlieh.

Next Story