Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Manipur militant leader, 17 cadres convicted

By Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, June 8 - The NIA Special Court at Guwahati today convicted 18 members of the banned United National Liberation Front (UNLF) including its chairman Raj Kumar Meghen under various sections of the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act and the Indian Penal Code.

The members of the outfit have been sentenced to rigorous imprisonment ranging from seven to 10 years for hatching criminal conspiracy of terrorist acts in Assam and Manipur and waging war against the Government of India.

The NIA had submitted two chargesheets in the case, charging 25 persons for their involvement in terrorist conspiracy and waging war against the Government. Of these, 18 persons faced the criminal trial while the remaining seven are absconding.

The case relates to a search conducted on April 30, 2010 at a rented house in Guwahati in which two persons including Khundong Tomba alias Bikramjit, vice chairman of the outfit and Y Nabichand, another UNLF cadre were arrested and a laptop, three pen drives, one mobile phone, one wireless internet connection and Rs 50,000 in cash were seized from their possession.

In the subsequent investigation, NIA and Assam Police arrested 20 more members of the UNLF, who were charged with hatching terrorist conspiracy in Manipur and Assam. It was alleged that the outfit had indulged in large scale extortion from Government officials, recruitment of cadres, purchase of arms and ammunition, for waging war against the Government.

The NIA also arrested UNLF chairman Raj Kumar Meghen alias Sanayama and a large number of digital articles like laptop and mobile phones were recovered from him and other cadres, which revealed financial dealings of the organisation as well as money trail of investments by the organisation.

The names of the convicted militants include Th Herojit Singh, Sougaijam Rakesh Singh, Oinam Somorjit Singh, Wayenbam Noren Singh, Naba Kumar Singh, Kh Jeeten Singh, Sinam Gune Singh, Mutun Ibohal Singh, KM Chingakham Bambem Chanu, Londhoni Devi, Oinam, Ningombam Dilip Singh, Laurenbam Jatishor Singh, M Joy Singh, N Bomi Singh, Y Brajabidhu Singh and A Ibomcha Singh.

Next Story