Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Manipur CC meet from today

By Correspondent

IMPHAL, Dec 1 - The 59th Churachand Singh KCSI, CBE memorial All-India Invitation Football Tournament 2015, popularly known as CC meet, will kick off at the Mapal Kangjeibung ground here from tomorrow.

Irrigation and Flood Control Minister Ngamthang Haokip and All Manipur Football Association (AMFA) president P Raghumani Singh will be the chief guest and functional president in the inauguration ceremony of the month-long football tournament.

A total of 21 football teams, including Assam Rifles Club of Shillong and Assam State Electricity Board are participating in the tournament which is being held under the aegis of the All Manipur Football Association. Shillong Lajong FC and Mizoram state league champion Dimther FC are also likely to participate in the tournament.

The winners will walk away with a purse of Rs 5 lakh, while the runners-up will be richer by Rs 2 lakh.

In the opening match of the tournament, SIRTI Football Club of Chandel will play against Kakching Popular Sporting Club at 1:30 pm tomorrow. The matches from quarterfinals onwards will be played at Khuman Lampak main stadium here from December 23. Last year, the CC meet title was bagged by TRUGPU Nambol.

Next Story