Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Madhabdev Award presented to Dr Mrinal Miri

By Correspondent

NORTH LAKHIMPUR, Feb 26 � Eminent scholar and academician Dr Mrinal Miri was presented the triennial Madhabdev Award at a function at Narayanpur, 56 km west of North Lakhimpur, on February 23.

The award, carrying Rs 2 lakh, a citation, a sarai and a chelleng chadar, earlier instituted by sociocultural organisation �Sadissa� and now offered by the State Government since 2009, was presented to the eminent scholar by Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi at a colourful ceremony held in the playground of Narayanpur HS School.

Giving away the prestigious award to Dr Miri, the Chief Minister said that it was the teachings of non-violence of Sankardev and Madhabdev which Mahatma Gandhi had applied in India�s freedom movement to compel the British to leave this country. Terming both the Vaishnavite saints of Assam as symbols of unity, Gogoi said that both the gurus created an exemplary situation by embracing Narottam from the Nagas and Chand Sai from the Muslims into their fold. He also called for unity among all the communities in Assam by calling the Assamese society as a strong, unified as well as inclusive society that had been shaped by saints like Sankardev, Madhabdev and Azan Fakir.

Receiving the award, Dr Miri, who is a former Vice Chancellor of North East Hill University and a former director of the Indian Council of Philosophical Research, said that he would be immensely inspired to undertake research on Madhabdev following this award. Terming the sixteenth century Vaishnavite saint as a great philosopher and litterateur, Dr Miri expressed his contentment over receiving the coveted award.

The president of �Sadissa� and local MLA, Bhupen Borah expressed his gratitude for granting the Madhabdev Award the status of a State Award in 2009 and said that it was instituted in 2005 with a view to carrying the legacy of the great saint from the namghar manikut and Nam-Ghosa to the world arena.

The award giving ceremony was also attended, among others, by Cultural Affairs Minister Pranati Phukan, former minister Prema Borah and former Lakhimpur MLA Sula Borah.

Next Story