Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Lawyers make a bee line for party tickets

By Correspondent

TINSUKIA, March 6 - With the elimination of the aspirants for party tickets of the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) for the prestigious 122-Tinsukia LAC, now it is time for the aspirants seeking tickets for the Congress and the BJP.

The Tinsukia LAC is being under the Congress�s armpit since Independence except it had been snatched by the Janata Party candidate, Golap Borbora, who subsequently became Chief Minister in 1978. Even in the wave of AGP in 1985 elections, the seat had been under the Congress party. But this time the aspirants are hell-bent on getting the BJP. A good number of aspirants of the Congress party are also running from door-to-door for getting the party ticket from the seat.

Interestingly for both the parties for Tinsukia constituency, several members of the Tinsukia Bar Association have been lobbying to get the party tickets. The sitting MLA, RP Singh of Congress, has won three consecutive times since 2001.

Among the new aspirants for the party, Pathik Deb, a lawyer, has been raising voices against the present MLA. Another aspirant for the Congress is Ramen Borthakur, a lawyer by profession, and also one of the spokespersons of the APCC. The other contenders for the party ticket include one Ashok Das, an old timer and known to be one of the close associates of Pranab Mukherjee, now President of India.

The list BJP aspirants contains a horde of lawyers in the fray to get the party tickets. Among them, the former and present district presidents, Pradip Kr Sur and Bhaben Sharma, respectively, Sewiji Dubey, who contested the seat on BJP ticket in 2006 election, Sujit Kr Rai, former Tinsukia Block Congress president who later joined the BJP are the ticket seekers this time.

Other aspirants for the BJP tickets are: the Tea Cell State chief, Sanjay Kishan, who lost the last election on party ticket and BJP Yuba Morcha district president Pulak Gohain, among others.

Next Story