Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Kokrajhar gearing up for BTC polls

By Correspondent

KOKRAJHAR, March 23 � The Kokrajhar district administration has geared up to smoothly conduct the coming BTC elections in respect of 12 BTC constituencies. The election is going to be held on April 8 next.

Thaneswar Malakar, District Returning Officer, Kokrajhar announced various steps being taken by the district administration for smooth conduct of election. He appealed to all the political parties to observe the Model Code of Conduct and other guidelines of the State Election Commission. He also assured that the district administration has taken up necessary arrangements to provide adequate security in all the polling stations for free and fair polls.

He has also streamlined the duty of the officers constituency wise. As per directives, the officers concerned will supervise the functioning of designated officers and provide necessary help and guidelines as and when required for preparation of error-free electoral rolls. He said that the claims and objections received by the designated officers against their polling stations should be disposed of as per rules and manuscript prepared and submitted to the Election Officer, Kokrajhar through the concerned Assistant Returning Officer (ARO) within the timeframe set by the Assam State Election Commission.

In the directives for five constituencies under Kokrajhar subdivision, officers Adhiraj Daimary, Ananta Kr Brahma, H Roy and Ajan Mahanta will look after No-7 Fakiragram (Non-ST) constituency under ARO T. Muktiar; in No-9 Banargaon (ST) constituency officers Surendra Kr Boro, Neepjyoti Das, Sisir Kr Das and Manabendra Sarkar will supervise the constituency under ARO PK Bhagawati. Officers Kirtin Brahma, Tapan J Das, Jatin Basumatary and Lankeswar Brahma will supervise No-10 Debargaon (ST) constituency under ARO N Baruah while officers Nihir Ranjan Basumatary, Ashim Kr Brahma, Niranjan Mushahary and Dinesh Pathak will look after 11 No- Baokhungri (ST) constituencies under ARO A Deory. On the other hand in No- 12 Salakati (ST), officers MK Kachary, Raj Kr Mahanta, Sofiqul Islam and D Boro will supervise the constituency under ARO P Choudhury.

Next Story