Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Kalita, Daimary, Bhuyan elected to Rajya Sabha


GUWAHATI, March 18 - Bhubaneswar Kalita of BJP, Biswajit Daimary of BPF, and the Congress-AIUDF supported independent candidate Ajit Kumar Bhuyan were today declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Assam.

They were the only candidates who had filed nominations for elections to the three Rajya Sabha seats.

Today was the last day for withdrawal of nomination for candidates. Returning officer AN Deka declared Kalita, Daimary and Bhuyan elected this afternoon after the time for withdrawal got over.

Deka also handed over the election certificates to the winners. While Kalita and Bhuyan collected the certificates themselves, a representative collected Daimary�s certificate on behalf of the BPF leader.

�I will focus on issues connected to development and connectivity. Through the Central government�s Act East Policy a lot more can be achieved to increase this region�s connectivity with Southeast Asia,� Kalita said.

Asked if he hopes to be inducted in the Union Council of Ministers, Kalita said he has no such ambitions.

�I joined the BJP only recently... I am grateful to the party that it has reposed its faith on me by nominating me to the Rajya Sabha. I will work as a member of the Rajya Sabha,� he said.

Bhuyan, on his part, said, �These Rajya Sabha elections have sent a message to the people of Assam in favour of the Constitution, democracy and secularism and against the CAA.�

Bhuyan said he will raise issues affecting Assam in the Rajya Sabha and continue with his anti-CAA stand in Parliament.

Next Story