Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

ISL: 41 Indian players retained, 23 signed

By The Assam Tribune
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Linkedin
  • Print
  • koo
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Linkedin
  • Print
  • koo
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Linkedin
  • Print
  • koo

MUMBAI, May 17 (PTI): A total of 41 Indian players have been rewarded with retention contracts by their respective Hero Indian Super League franchises, while 23 players have been signed from open market ahead of the second edition of the tournament.

Chennaiyin FC, FC Goa, FC Pune City and Kerala Blasters FC have exercised the maximum allowed retention clause by retaining six Indian players each from their previous squad, while Delhi Dynamos and NorthEast United FC have retained five each, Atletico de Kolkata have four players retained and Mumbai City FC have opted for three.

Each franchise is allowed to have a squad of 22, comprising 13 Indian and nine international players including one marquee. Additionally, a franchise can sign three more players from the open market which can include maximum of two international players.

Football Sports Development Limited � the promoting body with a joint venture between IMG, Reliance Industries and Star India � in its Governing Council meeting in March had announced a retention quota of minimum of one and maximum six Indian players, thus encouraging franchises to reward their best domestic players with retention contracts and continuity with the club.

Interestingly, FC Goa has already registered 11 out of the 13 Indian players� quota in the squad with five signings from open market apart from the six retained from the inaugural year of ISL. As of date, Atletico de Kolkata and Kerala Blasters FC each have nine Indian players on their roster, followed by Chennaiyin FC with eight, Delhi Dynamos, FC Pune City and NorthEast United with seven each, and Mumbai City FC having six domestic players.

Indian player signings will be completed in July through an auction followed by draft of unsigned players. The list for auction as well as draft will also include the names of players who missed out on the first season.

ISL Clubs Indian player list for 2015

Atletico de Kolkata

Players retained : Arnab Kumar Mondal; Baljit Sahni; Denzil Franco; Nallapan Mohanraj.

Signings from open market: Nadong Bhutia; Jewel Raja; Sushil Kumar Singh; Syed Rahim Nabi; Clifford Miranda.

Chennaiyin FC

Players retained : Jayesh Rane; Abhishek Das; Harmanjot Singh Khabra; Jeje Lalpekhula; Dhanachandra Singh; Balwant Singh.

Signings from open market: Godwin Franco; Mehrajuddin Wadoo

Delhi Dynamos FC

Players retained : Francis Fernandes; Anwar Ali; Syhlo Malsawmtluanga; Robert Lathlamuana; Souvik Chakraborty.

Signings from open market: Subhashish Roy Chowdhury; Seiminlen Doungel.

FC Goa

Players retained : Romeo Fernandes; Mandar Rao Desai; Laxmikant Kattimani; Narayan Das; Debadrata Roy; Bikramjit Singh

Signings from open market: Pronay Halder; CS Sabeeth; Denson Devadas; Joaquim Abranches; Raju Gaikwad.

FC Pune City

Players retained : Lenny Rodrigues; Arindham Bhattacharya; Ravanan Dharmaraj; Israil Gurung; Pritam Kotal; Manish Maithani.

Signings from open market: Gourmangi Singh.

Kerala Blasters FC

Players retained : Sandesh Jhingan; Ishfaq Ahmed; Mehatab Hossain; Gurwinder Singh; Saumik Dey; Sandip Nandy.

Signings from open market: Mohammed Rafi; Nirmal Chettri; Ramandeep Singh.

Mumbai City FC

Players retained : Subrata Paul; Subhash Singam Singh; Lalrindika Ralte.

Signings from open market: Gabriel Fernandes; Kingshuk Debnath; Rowlin Rodrigues.

NorthEast United FC

Players retained: Rehnesh TP; Aiborlang Khongjee; Robin Gurung; Boithang Haokip; Alen Deory.

Signings from open market: Sanju Pradhan; Holicharn Narzary.

Next Story