Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Ibobi targets 3.5 lakh pre-paid meters for power consumers

By Correspondent

IMPHAL, Oct 4 - The Manipur government is targeting to provide 3.5 lakh prepaid meters to the electric consumers of the State�s four valley districts and to those of district headquarters and subdivisional headquarters of the hill districts of Manipur by December 2016.

This was disclosed by Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh who is also the Chairman of North Eastern Region Power Committee (NERPC) while speaking at the inaugural function of the 17th Technical Coordination Committee Meeting of the NERPC here on Tuesday.

The power scenario in Manipur has improved after the State electricity department started using pre-paid power system since April 2012.Earlier in Manipur there always was a shortfall of 80 MW to 90 MW in peak hour requirement in winters.

The NERPC, which was attended by officials of the power departments from the seven NE States, was organised by Manipur State Power Company Limited (MSPCL).

Ibobi also said that the State government is targeting to soon commission the 400 KV Sub-Station being constructed at Thoubal. For this, he urged the Power Grid Corporation of India (PGCIL) to expedite works for the upgradation of 132 KV sub-station at Yurembam to 400 KV sub-station. He also appealed to the Power Grid to expedite the projects taken up by them under the World Bank for development of power infrastructures in the State.

Stating that the present peak demand of power in the State is 140 MW, Ibobi said that with the commissioning of the two 400 KV sub-stations around 1000 MW of power will be available in the State which would be enough for the State�s power requirement for the next 20/30 years.

In addition to the already commissioned 400 KV line from Silchar to Imphal, the Manipur government has already proposed another 400 KV line from Misa (Assam) via New Kohima and Mariani (Assam) to make a loop for sustained power supply, he added.

The meeting was attended SD Dubey, Chairman, Central Electricity Authority, PK Mishra, Member Secretary NERPC, S Ganguly, MD OTPC, N Sarat Singh, Managing Director MSPCL and Chairman TCC. The concerned officials of all the seven Northeast States and stakeholders also attended the meeting which is held annually.

Next Story