Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Govt move to merge directorates decried

By Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, July 27 - A meeting of Purbanchal Tai Sahitya Sabha, Ahom Sabha, Sadou Tai Ahom Chatra Santha, Tai Ahom Yuva Parishad Asom, Mohon Deodhai Bailung Sanmilan and Poy Fruralung Myung Asom Sanmilan held yesterday decried the State government�s decision to merge the Department of Historical and Antiquarian Studies with the Assam State Museum and demanded that the department be properly managed by appointing a full-time director.

�The Department of Historical and Antiquarian Studies was set up during the British days in 1928 with donation from Danbir Radhakanta Handique and it is a treasure trove of ancient literature, history and wisdom of Assam. Over the decades, a galaxy of scholars, including Britishers and the likes of Dr Surya Kumar Bhuyan and Leela Gogoi, were at the department�s helm of affairs, making stellar contributions in the study of the State�s heritage. The decision to merge it with the State Museum is foolhardy and must be rescinded. It must be made active at the earliest and a full-time director is needed to handle it,� the organisations said in a statement.

By another resolution, the organisations called for naming the under-construction bridge over the Brahmaputra at Bogibeel in Dibrugarh district after the founder of the Ahom kingdom Chaolung Siu-ka-pha, who is credited with having made the maximum contribution towards the formation of the State of Assam and the composite Assamese race.

�By naming the Bogibeel bridge after the great visionary king, it would be a fitting tribute to the founder of the Assam State and the Assamese race,� the statement said.

The statement was signed by Dr Dayananda Borgohain, president of Purbanchal Tai Sahitya Sabha; Puspadhar Saikia, general secretary of Purbanchal Tai Sahitya Sabha; Dilip Gogoi of Tai Ahom Yuva Parishad Assam; Manuj Gogoi, joint secretary of Sadou Tai Ahom Chatra Santha and Rupam Chetia Bora, general secretary of Sadou Asom Ahom Sabha.

Next Story