Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Fairyland High School champs

By Sports reporter

GUWAHATI, June 16 - Fairyland High School lifted the Dhan Sena Sinha memorial trophy emerging champions in the River Rine Cricket Coaching Centre organised All Assam School Cricket Tournament.

In the final played at the Latasil playground here today, Fairyland boys outwitted Hindustani Kendriya Vidyalaya (HKV) by a margin of 65 runs.

Being asked to bat first, Fairyland gathered a challenging total of 175 losing all the wickets 29.4 overs. Dhananjay Paswan (not out 45), Atul Kr Singh (42) and Kausar Ali (31) were their leading run getters while Rocket Swargiary came out with four wickets for HKV.

Chasing the target the HKV boys were all out for 108 in 25.2 overs. Pankaj Sing was their notable contributor with 42 while Pratik Haritwal (4/17) and Dipjyoti Kakoti (3/16) wrecked their innings.

The individual prize winners are: Dhananjay Paswan (MoM), Parvez Musharaf (MoS, Gurunanak HS), Gurpreet Singh (Best batsman, HKV), Samarpan Bhuyan (Best bowler, Don Bosco), Sagar Sah (Best fielder, Assam Vidya Mandir), Biraj Patgiri (Best wicket keeper, Assam Jatiya Vidyalaya).

Brief scores: Fairyland 175 (Dhananjay Paswan 45, Atul Kr Singh 42, Kousar Ali 31, Rocket Swargiary 4/20, Anup Bhujel 2/23). HKV 108 (Pankaj Singh 42, Gurpreet Singh 15, Pratik Haritwal 4/17, Dipjyoti Kakoti 3/16).

Next Story