Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Ethnic communities hold meet

By Correspondent

MORIGAON, Dec 29 - An emergent meeting of coordination committee of six ethnic groups namely Koch Rajbongsi, Chutiya, Tai-Ahom, Moran, Mattak and Tea tribe was held here at the conference hall of Morigaon Press Club on Monday.

The meeting was presided over by Ajit Deka, president of Morigaon district unit of coordination committee of six ethnic communities. Explaining the purpose of the meeting, Jayanta Bordoloi, secretary of the Morigaon district Chutiya Sanmilan, said that viewing the socio-economic status of the six ethnic groups of Assam, the communities are going on in agitation path demanding the Scheduled Tribe status to them.

Though these six communities are exerted pressure on the Central Government to enlist them in ST list, there was no breakthrough in this regard yet, Bordoloi added.

Speaking on the occasion, Naba Kanta Bordoloi, president of Morigaon district Chutiya Sanmilan, said that six communities must fight to achieve their goal. He also appealed to all the youth organisations of these communities to hold a convention in Morigaon town to chalk out future course of action.

Addressing the gathering, Surya Deka, president of Koch Rajbonshi Kalyan Parishad, said that the BJP Government at Centre is yet to declare the ST status to those backward communities of Assam. Though Union Minister J Orang assured the ethnic groups, there is no Government notification issued till date in this regard.

The meeting resolved to hold a full-fledged convention of these communities on the demand in the first week of February at Morigaon town.

Next Story