Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Electronic Media clinch title

By Sports reporter

GUWAHATI, March 3 � Electronic Media team emerged champions in the inaugural edition of the Assam Sports Journalists Association (ASJA) organised DynaRoof ASJA Media T20 Cricket Tournament outplaying Photo Journalists Association by 73 runs.

In the one-sided summit clash at the Nehru Stadium here today, put into bat, the Electronic Media team gathered a commendable 140 for six and later skittled out the lensmen for 67 in 13.5 overs. Binoy Kalita of the winning team top scored with 59 while Kishore Talukdar scored an useful 28.

Bhargav Baishya and Binoy Kalita ripped through the Photo Journalists innings capturing five and three wickets respectively.

Pranab Das and Binoy Kalita, both of the champion team, were adjudged man-of-the-tournament and man-of-the-final respectively. Vishma Thapa of Photo Journalist got the best batsman award while Binoy Kalita and Pranjal Sarma of Electronic Media were awarded best bowler and best wicket keeper trophies respectively. Their teammate Ankur Borthakur was chosen for the best fielder award.

In the closing function, vice- president of Dyna Roof Manjit Dutt, Director of Shristi Housing Development Parimal Dey, Joint Director of Sports and Youth Welfare Anjan Sarma, DynaRoof official Debasis Saha, Assam Boxing Association secretary Hemanta Kalita, sports organisers AHM Ali, Zeherul Haque, former Ranji player Nasir Gul Khan were present as guests and they gave away the prizes to the teams and individuals.

Brief scores: Electronic Media 140/6 (Binoy Kalita 59, Kishore Talukdar 28, Pitambar Newar 2/26, Dhruba Boro 2/29). Photo Journalists 67 (Banjit Bhuyan 18, Bhargav Baishya 5/10, Binay Kalita 3/22).

Next Story