Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Elections for 55 Rajya Sabha seats Feb 7

By The Assam Tribune

NEW DELHI, Jan 13 (IANS): Biennial elections for 55 Rajya Sabha seats, including seven from Maharashtra, will be held Feb 7, the Election Commission announced Monday.

As per the schedule, the results shall be announced the same day.

The elections will be held for the seats falling vacant between April 2-14 this year.

Besides Maharashtra, the elections will be held in Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh (six seats each), West Bengal and Bihar (five each), Odisha and Gujarat (four each), Assam, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan (three each).

The other states to see polling are Chhattisgarh, Haryana and Jharkhand (two seats each) and Himachal Pradesh, Meghalaya and Manipur (one seat each).

The polling notification will be issued Jan 21, nominations will be received till Jan 28 and scrutiny will be completed Jan. 29. The last date for withdrawal of nominations will be Jan 31.

The entire election process will be completed Feb 10, the poll panel said.

Next Story